The Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Education is established under the Maharashtra Secondary Boards Act 1965 (amended in 1977). The board has been ranked 4th in the ‘Futuristic Education Boards in India’. The important role is to conduct examinations at the end of class X and XII

The Maharashtra State board got established on January 1, 1966. Various responsibilities include:

  1. Implementation of rules and regulation in line with state and central government
  2. Controlling and implementing the syllabus/curriculum of all the grades, textbooks, exam schedule and type
  3. The board is involved in creating textbooks
  4. Fair commencement of examination and scoring of the centralized test

Time of Examination

Maharashtra board conducts an exam twice a year, one in March and another in October. Results are announced in June and January respectively.

Divisional Boards

  1. Nagpur Divisional Board
  2. Pune Divisional Board
  3. Aurangabad Divisional Board
  4. Mumbai Divisional Board
  5. Kolhapur Divisional Board
  6. Amravati Divisional Board
  7. Nashik Divisional Board
  8. Latur Divisional Board
  9. Konkan Divisional Board